Where Do I Begin?


So you’ve decided to be a language teacher! Congratulation!

Welcome to a profession that will guarantee you more than your fair share of challenges, growth, joy, and fulfillment. Challenges await you at evry turn in your professional path because the descipline of language teaching has only begun to solve some of tile perplexing questions about how people successfully learn foreign languages. Opportunities for growth abound because, for as long as you continue to teach, you will never run out of new questions, new possibilities, new ways of looking at your students, and new way of looking at yourself. The joy of teaching lies in the vicarious pleasure of witnessing your students’ attainment of broader and broader vistas of linguistic proficiency and in experiencing the communal bound that you have been instrumental in creating in your classroom.

Right now, all those lofty ideals not withstanding, you may be a little apprehensive about what short of a teacher you are going to turn out to be. What will it be like to be in front of a classroom full of expectant ears and eyes, hanging on my every word and action, ready and waiting, I surmise, to pounce on me if I make false move? How will I develop the composure and poised that I’ve seen modeled by master teachers whom I have observed? Will I be able to take thesea of theoreticalinformation about second language aquisition that I’ve studied and no. By some miracle transform all that into practical classroom applications? How do I plan a lesson? What do I do if my lesson plan falls apart? Where do I begin?

Lecturer Pen Sithol (PSi), Teaching Methodology 401, (2012-2013)

***

Finally, I have my followed my father’s footstep instead of my mother’s, yet it doesn’t mean I forfeit my medical degree for the teaching degree. I will graduate as a teacher of English language first and then as a medical doctor. As that time comes, I have choices. Whatever choces they are, I like to help people whether in a way of sharing knowledge or curing them, and I’d dearly love to restore my nation.

About តា ម៉ាប់

ខ្មែរ​ម្នាក់​ដែល​រស់​ដើម្បី​ខ្មែរ ! A young Khmer with big ambition for his motherland!
This entry was posted in កំណត់សរសេរ តាម៉ាប់ and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where Do I Begin?

  1. ចំណាន និយាយថា៖

    Alright tamab!, if you would like to choose between Medical doctor and English teacher, you should choose which one that you really like it, because the more you like the faster you will succeed.😀

  2. vsthea និយាយថា៖

    សម្រេចយកមួយណាហើយ?

  3. vsthea និយាយថា៖

    គិតឲ្យស្រួលបួលតាម៉ាប់ ប្រយ័ត្នស្តាយក្រោយណ៎ា បងមិនហ៊ានផ្តល់យោបល់អីច្រើនទេ ព្រោះ​បងចូលចិត្ត​ទាំងពីរហ្នឹង ។

សាសង

